Colony collapse disorder and the sun’s magnetic poles

I just read the craziest suggestion ever to explain colony collapse disorder

Do you think that the sun changing magnetic poles affected bees?

Or is it?

Just this last Friday, I described some of my thoughts on honeybees being affected by electromagnetic fields (see here and here). First, note where this “crazy” suggestion comes from, i.e. China. I don’t know who made the comment, but I do know that China’s electromagnetic research capabilities exceed those of the US, so I wouldn’t easily dismiss real research coming out of China on the subject.

I didn’t know this before, but apparently the sun’s magnetic field reverses every 11 years in a very predictable sun cycle. According to this Nasa page, the last minimum occurred in October 1996. If my math is right, that means that 2007 should be the year of minimum sun spots. Hmm…

This Nasa page presents the predicted sunspot numbers starting from 1997. Sure enough, the minimum sunspot number was to occur in July 2007. Here is a very recent 1-pager on the sun cycle

Solar cycle 24 prediction

Here’s a chart of sunspots.

sunspot.jpg

Now, I’m not saying that I believe this to be related to CCD, but I do think that electromagnetic fields (either atmospheric or man made) are involved somehow and the fact that the 11-year sun cycle is at a minimum this year is certainly intriguing. I’ll post more soon…

2 thoughts on “Colony collapse disorder and the sun’s magnetic poles

  1. It’s late and I am sleep deprived, but here’s my question: if the Sun’s magnetic field varies over time in a somewhat cyclical manner, why is that we haven’t heard of CCD in the past, say, 11 years ago, or 22, or 33? Hope I am not missing anything obvious…

  2. Hi Rod,

    That’s exactly the question I had. I am not yet seriously considering the possibility that the sun’s magnetic field has anything to do with CCD, but I think it is “intriguing”. I’ll probably dig in some more over the next couple of days and report on what I find.

    If you read about past mysterious honeybee disappearances, you’ll soon discover that this does seem to be somewhat cyclical, i.e. it did happen roughly 20 years ago I believe.

    I do think a likely cause for CCD is electromagnetic radiation in some form or another.

    Cheers!
    Eric

    PS: I know how the sleep deprivation things goes. I’m running on 3 hours last night myself *caffeeeeine*

Leave a comment