Phorgy Phynance

Public apology to my favorite market blogger Barry Ritholtz

with 2 comments

I suck. I suck. I suck 😦

I read Barry Ritholtz’ blog The Big Picture religiously. It is by far, my favorite blog. Recently, he went on a rant about receiving lame emails containing tips/links.

Ways to achieve a painful, early death

In particular, take note of items 7 and 8

7.) Please do not send me info on something I have already posted on. There is a Google search box at the top right: type in a phrase, and voila! Prior posts on that subject!

8.) Don’t send me links to items I have already posted. Don’t send me links to stuff that are months old. And lastly, don’t send me headline without a link. If you are too damned lazy to find a link, then I assume whatever story you are sending is lazy and dumb also.

When my friend sent me the link to the “Fine Line – Subprime Decline” video, I remembered that Barry had recently said how much he enjoyed a capella. Thinking I had a scoop, I excitedly sent him the link to the video.

Ack! Remembering Barry’s recent rant, I went back to search his blog for his “a capella” reference. To my shock and horror, the reference where he said he enjoyed a capella was regarding a link to the very same “Fine Fine Line” song I had just emailed him about. ACK!

The only thing I can say in my defense is that when I read his post about his love for a capella, I was in my office where YouTube is blocked, so I never saw the video until my friend (who performed and recorded the song) sent it to me. I didn’t put two and two together.

I feel like a total idiot for violating Barry’s rules and give him my word I will use the Google search box on his page before sending him an email again. I’m sure he receives hundreds of lame email a day and the last thing I want to do is to contribute to the noise. Let this be a reminder to others who, although possibly well intentioned, end up violating his death rules.

Sorry Barry!!

Written by Eric

September 24, 2007 at 12:22 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Settle down

    It wasn’t that big a snafu

    What really pisses me off is when I get 47 of the same item — which I posted on a month ago . . .

    Barry Ritholtz

    September 25, 2007 at 8:04 am

  2. Thanks Barry. Just got in from another 18 hours of model building. Seeing your comment made my day 🙂

    phorgyphynance

    September 25, 2007 at 11:11 pm


Leave a Reply

